Expunging a Conviction

District Court only handles misdemeanor convictions; felonies are handled by the Circuit Court.
You may only have ONE conviction in order to qualify to have your record expunged.

Must be at least 5 years since sentence.
Cannot be a traffic offense
Process takes from 60 to 90 days and you must be present at court hearing
$15.00 (money order/cash) record check fee to start process
Must have fingerprints taken (cost is approximately $50 through Michigan State Police)
Must serve/mail Michigan State Police and Attorney Generals Office

The 81st District Court cannot give legal advice.